Does anyone want to talk Pembroke wrestling? View previous topic | View next topic

Page 1 of 1
Does anyone want to talk Pembroke wrestling?

ssarama
I'm an old-timer from the '80's and would love to catch up with you guys.

afwrestler16
what is your name

ssarama
Scott Sarama... wrestled varsity for PHS 82-87 (5 seasons).

would you happen to know me?

afwrestler16
nope when i comes to wrestling in pembroke the school doesn't give a xxxx they lost all the records so we have to start fresh with those so there is no real wrestling history at pembroke Sad

ssarama
are you kidding me????

do you wrestle there now? are you an alum or a parent?

I have a long history with the wrestling program there. I kept it alive in the 80's when we had as few as 8 wrestlers TOTAL on the team. I had a spring wrestling club to try and start a feeder system.

I even bought them new singlets after I graduated because ours were so pathetic.

The program was in terrible shape when I was there and I have been ecstatic to hear that it seems to have turned around in recent years. I was hoping to catch up on what has been happening.

Last edited by ssarama on Feb 24, 2005; edited 1 time in total

afwrestler16
i just graduated last yr the program is really starting to come around with pembrokes first state champ last yr nick price

finished the season with a 8-2 duel meet record and 3rd in the league and they fft atleast 2-4 weight class's a meet or tourney

ssarama
so the team still has trouble fielding 13 wrestlers? Are you wrestling in college now?

I can give you the 80's history of the team.

In the late 70's, Spencerport's current coach, Tom Jacoutot, coached at Pembroke! Tom is probably one of the greatest HS coaches in the country. Well, politics at PHS led to him being laid off as I went into 7th grade in 1981. He went to Spencerport where he routinely has state champions every year. Mad Mad Mad